Laying My Head Down in London

My first Airbnb experience was a huge hit! Everything was even better than advertised. I stayed in a high rise in the Woolwich Arsenal neighborhood, which is in the very southeastern corner of the city. Not central at all, but close enough to a bunch of main attractions and most importantly, the price was right for what was offered! London will cost you an arm and a leg if you let it!

The bed was huge and comfy, I had my own bathroom, and everything was well equipped with all the comforts of home. You can see Ted on the bed chillin’ like a villain. Ha, somebody cut me a record deal, quick! Anyhow, the apartment wasn’t big but it was spotless and immaculate, and a major highlight was the little balcony.

What really made the stay was the hosts, D & F. They were warm and terribly sweet, and clearly loved to entertain. It was hilarious watching their married-people arguments and listening to the stories about their careers and world travels. The food was incredible. A nice simple breakfast of cereal, fruit and yogurt was included in the price, but more importantly since guests were welcome to join them for dinner in the evening I saved a lot of money by eating with them.

Dinner was always set up beautifully, served up hot, with Motown in the background. They were happy to grab me more condiments and refreshments, and encouraged me to second helpings. Let me tell you, they way they hooked it up it didn’t have to offer twice! I was ranting over how incredible the food was every night. This was gourmet level stuff here, folks! D even baked my name into a beef pie!

The Balmoral Chicken  was the first time I tried haggis and fell in love. WHY WON’T PEOPLE TRY HAGGIS. ALSO, WHY DO SOME AMERICANS BELIEVE IT’S A SMALL WOODLAND CREATURE. IT IS NOT IT IS A DELICIOUS AND MAGICAL DISH.

Anywho, D&F were really loveliest people you could ever meet. They really helped me to feel at home at the time when I was in emotional turmoil and needed someone to be nice to me. I invited them to come visit me in my home whenever they get the chance. I just need to figure out where home will be!

Leave a Reply

